Biography

Kouka is a Franco-Congolese painter, born in Paris in 1981. Grandson of the expressionist painter Francis Gruber, he graduated from the School of Fine Arts in 2000. He never ceases to confront his origins, on his canvases as in the street. Using different forms of portraiture, Kouka develops his research themes around the essence of Man and Identity.

His work is characterized by the expressiveness and spontaneity of the gesture, voluntarily revealing imperfections, inaccuracies and drips. His painting plays with graffiti codes to better touch the heart of his search on the status of the image.

Since his famous "Bantu Warriors" who marked his first singular urban imprint, he never ceased to recall that public space, like the world, does not belong to anyone.

Asserting himself with an almost obsessive work on the portrait, he creates a veil between the face of the artist and the spectator who becomes protection and vector of thought. Sometimes the figure disappears to make room for writing and its power. The work becomes a white surface where only the strength of words is expressed. Indistinct, indecipherable, enigmatic, language is no longer identified, words change into symbols like a return to universality.

Nadège Buffe (Galerie Taglialatella)

To receive exclusive information on my projects, subscribe to the newsletter

👇

  • Facebook - Kouka Ntadi
  • Instagram - Kouka Ntadi
  • Twitter - Kouka Ntadi

©Kouka Ntadi 2020

A propos

Kouka Ntadi est un artiste peintre franco-congolais, né à Paris en 1981. Petit-fils du peintre expressionniste Francis Gruber, diplômé de l'école des Beaux Arts en 2000, il ne cesse de confronter ses origines, sur ses toiles comme dans la rue. Déclinant différentes formes du portrait, il développe ses thèmes de recherche autour de l'essence de l'Homme, et de l'identité.

Son travail se caractérise par l’expressivité et la spontanéité du geste, laissant volontairement apparaître les imperfections et les coulures. Sa peinture se joue des codes du graffiti pour mieux toucher au coeur d une recherche sur le statut de l'image.

Depuis ses fameux "Guerriers Bantu" qui ont marqué sa première empreinte urbaine singulière, il ne cesse de rappeler que l’espace public, comme le monde, n’appartient à personne.

S’affirmant avec un travail quasi obsessionnel sur le portrait, il créé un voile entre le visage de l’artiste et le spectateur qui devient protection et vecteur de pensée. Parfois la figure disparait pour laisser place à l’écriture et son pouvoir. Le travail devient une surface blanche où seule la force des mots s’exprime. Indistinct, indéchiffrable, énigmatique, le langage n’est plus identifié, les mots se changent en symboles comme un retour à l’universalité. 

Nadège Buffe (Galerie Taglialatella)

Pour recevoir des infos exclusives sur mes projets, inscrivez-vous à la newsletter

👇

  • Facebook - Kouka Ntadi
  • Instagram - Kouka Ntadi
  • Twitter - Kouka Ntadi

©Kouka Ntadi 2020